All engagements conducted under NDA·Evidence preserved to technical chain-of-custody standards·Engagements limited to qualified organizations

Free scanThe studyForensic TriageForensic AuditAI VendorsResearch
Free scan · no install

Does Zoom train on your meetings — and is AI Companion covered by your Zoom BAA?

Zoom executes BAAs but does not state whether AI Companion outputs are in scope · Does not use customer content to train Zoom's or third-party AI models · Outputs stored under your account's retention settings

AI Companion - admin-enabled
HIPAA BAAZoom executes BAAs, but its public HIPAA page does not state which plans qualify, whether AI Companion outputs are in scope, or what configuration is required
Trains on your dataNo"Zoom does not use any customer audio, video, chat, screen sharing, attachments, or other communications-like customer content... to train Zoom's or its third-party artificial intelligence models"
Survives deletionAI Companion outputs are stored per the customer's retention settings; Zoom states customers may choose the retention period for "some of the AI Companion outputs" - the scope of "some" is not defined
Deployer / admin log accessAdmins enable and manage features in the Admin Portal; summaries are stored in the web portal under account, group or user retention settings. No dedicated audit-export path specified
Third-party attestationSOC 2 + HITRUST report referenced for healthcare customers
Commonly mistaken for

The assumption that an existing Zoom BAA automatically covers AI Companion outputs - Zoom's public HIPAA page does not state this. Also the assumption AI Companion is off: admins enable it account-wide, and hosts activate it per meeting

Source: https://www.zoom.com/en/products/ai-assistant/resources/privacy-security/Document: Zoom - AI Companion Security and PrivacyVerified: September 2, 2026Verified by: Adil — Shadow AI Forensics

Vendor terms change without notice. This page reflects what Zoom AI Companion published as of September 2, 2026. Re-verified quarterly.

This page states what the vendor published. It does not score them.

If you need a scored Go / Conditional Go / No-Go verdict for a vendor decision — including a vendor not listed here — that's an AI Vendor Risk Assessment: three binary industry gates, nine scored criteria, four provenance fields on every finding. $997, delivered in 48 hours.

See how AVRA works →

Want all 13 tools in one file?

AI Vendor Compliance Quick-Reference

Covers 22 tiers across 13 tools — same sourcing, side by side, printable for a vendor file.