All engagements conducted under NDA·Evidence preserved to technical chain-of-custody standards·Engagements limited to qualified organizations

Free scanThe studyForensic TriageForensic AuditAI VendorsResearch
Free scan · no install

Does DeepL train on your text? Free and Pro give different answers

Free (Translator & Write): Trains on uploaded content to improve its neural networks · No BAA terms published · Retention duration not stated

Pro (Translator, Write & API): Texts not used to improve services · Deleted after contractual performance · No BAA terms published

DeepL’s security page states texts are "never stored or used for model training without your consent," which reads differently from the privacy policy’s free-service clause.

Free - Translator & WritePro - Translator, Write & API
HIPAA BAANot documentedDeepL announced HIPAA compliance by press release, but no public document states whether a BAA is offered, on which plans, or with what exclusions. HIPAA and BAA do not appear on DeepL's data security pageNot documentedHIPAA compliance announced by press release only; no BAA offer, plan scope or feature exclusions are published
Trains on your dataYes"We process the content you upload and their translations or improvements for a limited period of time to train and improve our neural networks and algorithms"Nofor DeepL Translator Pro, DeepL API Pro and DeepL Write Pro, "your texts will not be used to improve the quality of our services"
Survives deletionTexts are retained temporarily for training purposes; the privacy policy does not state a duration"After complete performance of the contractually agreed services all submitted texts or documents and their translations or improvements will be deleted." No specific deletion timing is stated
Deployer / admin log accessNot stated for the free serviceNot stated in the documents reviewed in this pass
Third-party attestationSOC 2 Type II stated on the data security page - "Certified for security, availability, and confidentiality." ISO 27001 and C5 Type 2 appear only in DeepL press releases and blog posts, not on the security page. Scope by plan not statedSOC 2 Type II stated on the data security page. ISO 27001 and C5 Type 2 announced in press materials but absent from the security page
Commonly mistaken for — Free - Translator & Write

DeepL Pro, where texts are contractually excluded from training and deleted after service performance. Also DeepL's own security-page claim that "Texts are never stored or used for model training without your consent," which conflicts with the privacy policy's free-service training clause

Commonly mistaken for — Pro - Translator, Write & API

The free service, whose content is used for training. Also the security page's blanket "never stored or used for model training without your consent," which reads as covering every plan but conflicts with the privacy policy's free-tier clause

Source: https://www.deepl.com/en/privacyDocument: DeepL Privacy PolicyVerified: September 2, 2026Verified by: Adil — Shadow AI Forensics

Vendor terms change without notice. This page reflects what DeepL published as of September 2, 2026. Re-verified quarterly.

This page states what the vendor published. It does not score them.

If you need a scored Go / Conditional Go / No-Go verdict for a vendor decision — including a vendor not listed here — that's an AI Vendor Risk Assessment: three binary industry gates, nine scored criteria, four provenance fields on every finding. $997, delivered in 48 hours.

See how AVRA works →

Want all 13 tools in one file?

AI Vendor Compliance Quick-Reference

Covers 22 tiers across 13 tools — same sourcing, side by side, printable for a vendor file.