All engagements conducted under NDA·Evidence preserved to technical chain-of-custody standards·Engagements limited to qualified organizations

Free scanThe studyForensic TriageForensic AuditAI VendorsResearch
Free scan · no install

Does Notion AI train on your workspace, and how long do its LLM providers keep your data?

HIPAA enabled via zero-retention APIs, BAA requirement not stated · Notion and its AI subprocessors do not use customer data to train models · Enterprise gets zero retention at the LLM provider; all other plans up to 30 days

Notion AI
HIPAA BAANotion states Notion AI "enables HIPAA compliance by utilizing LLM provider's zero-retention APIs and allows for the processing of protected health information (PHI)." Zero retention is documented as the default for Enterprise plan workspaces. Whether a signed BAA is required, and on which plan, is not stated in this article
Trains on your dataNo"By default, Notion and its AI Subprocessors do not use Customer Data to train any models," and use of Notion AI grants Notion no license to train on Customer Data
Survives deletionPlan-dependentEnterprise workspaces get zero data retention at the LLM provider, so nothing is stored. All non-Enterprise workspaces: LLM providers retain Customer Data for 30 days or fewer. Embeddings in vector databases are deleted within 60 days of page or workspace deletion
Deployer / admin log accessNot stated in this article
Third-party attestationYes"Notion AI is included in the scope of Notion's SOC 2 Type 2 report and ISO 27001 certification"
Commonly mistaken for

The retention gap between plans - Enterprise gets zero retention at the LLM provider while every other plan leaves Customer Data with that provider for up to 30 days. Also the assumption Notion runs only its own models: Anthropic and OpenAI are named AI subprocessors

Source: https://www.notion.com/help/notion-ai-security-practicesDocument: Notion Help Center - Notion AI security & privacy practicesVerified: September 2, 2026Verified by: Adil — Shadow AI Forensics

Vendor terms change without notice. This page reflects what Notion published as of September 2, 2026. Re-verified quarterly.

This page states what the vendor published. It does not score them.

If you need a scored Go / Conditional Go / No-Go verdict for a vendor decision — including a vendor not listed here — that's an AI Vendor Risk Assessment: three binary industry gates, nine scored criteria, four provenance fields on every finding. $997, delivered in 48 hours.

See how AVRA works →

Want all 13 tools in one file?

AI Vendor Compliance Quick-Reference

Covers 22 tiers across 13 tools — same sourcing, side by side, printable for a vendor file.