All engagements conducted under NDA·Evidence preserved to technical chain-of-custody standards·Engagements limited to qualified organizations

Free scanThe studyForensic TriageForensic AuditAI VendorsResearch
Free scan · no install

Does Slack AI train on your messages, and does your Slack BAA cover it?

BAA requires Enterprise Grid, and Slack's HIPAA guidance does not mention Slack AI · No generative-model training on customer data, but customer data improves global non-generative models unless you opt out · Retention not stated

Slack AI
HIPAA BAAYesEnterprise Grid only - a BAA must be executed, and Slack's guidance permits PHI only in messages, files, file names, and private channel or DM names. The HIPAA article does not mention Slack AI or state whether AI features fall within BAA scope
Trains on your dataNofor generative models - "We do not develop generative AI models using Customer Data," and third-party LLMs "are not updated by and don't in other ways retain Customer Data after a request to them." Separately, Customer Data is used to improve global non-generative models unless the workspace opts out
Survives deletionNot stated in the privacy principles document
Deployer / admin log accessNot stated in the documents reviewed in this pass
Third-party attestationNot verified in this passnot stated in the HIPAA or privacy principles documents reviewed
Commonly mistaken for

"We don't train AI on your data" reads broader than it is - it covers generative models, while Customer Data still improves global non-generative search and learning models unless you opt out. Also the assumption that a Slack BAA covers AI features, which the HIPAA article does not address

Source: https://slack.com/help/articles/360020685594-Slack-and-HIPAADocument: Slack Help Center - Slack and HIPAAVerified: September 2, 2026Verified by: Adil — Shadow AI Forensics

Vendor terms change without notice. This page reflects what Slack published as of September 2, 2026. Re-verified quarterly.

This page states what the vendor published. It does not score them.

If you need a scored Go / Conditional Go / No-Go verdict for a vendor decision — including a vendor not listed here — that's an AI Vendor Risk Assessment: three binary industry gates, nine scored criteria, four provenance fields on every finding. $997, delivered in 48 hours.

See how AVRA works →

Want all 13 tools in one file?

AI Vendor Compliance Quick-Reference

Covers 22 tiers across 13 tools — same sourcing, side by side, printable for a vendor file.